“Mundisungile moyo, Mundisungile korona”

Thursday night. Unforeseen and unexpected, grief and disbelief loomed across the hearts of Malawi’s people as news of Grace Chinga’s passing surfaced homes and media at large. The gospel songstress adorned the ears of her listeners as she emanated her God given talent and fervent versatility through her music. Her musical content married archives of human experience and godly affections culminating towards worship and the message of Jesus. Indeed, a legacy was left. Indeed, a mark was imprinted. Rest well.

“Mundisungile moyo, Mundisungile korona”

Saturday night. Two days had gone by. I inserted the disc and pressed play. The melody filled the room as my ears glued in. It seemed fitting to listen to some of her older and more memorable song titles. Though I admit that I was not an avid listener and follower I could tell that she was indeed gift. Each song was well crafted carrying a somewhat depth behind it. As the songs played away I soon came to track number nine: “Mundisungile Korona.” About three or four years ago I and a friend stood behind our church building as we waited for the bus to collect the Sunday school kids. He began recounting of how a friend of his found hope in God again after hearing the words behind the song “Mundisungile Korona” (the friend had gone through a rough patch). He felt as if God was telling him that He has kept him a crown. The song speaks of a person who is on a mission for God. It narrates the hardships, conflicts and cares that cross our path as we carry the mantle of the “great commission”- to preach the gospel. In the chorus she sings “Mundisungile moyo, Mundisungile korona, Mundisungile malo” (Keep my life, keep my crown, keep me a place). As I listened to the lyrics the words of the apostle Paul cascaded through my mind: “For this reason I also suffer these things, but I am not ashamed; for I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that He is able to guard what I have entrusted to Him until that day [1].” I sat there feeling startled and awed by eternity.

Eternity diminishes all that is temporal. With the hustle and bustle of all that is around us it is easy to be swept and absorbed by the temporal cares of this world. Jesus often reminded His followers that they were strangers in this world. He often brought to their attention that their treasure is in heaven where moth and dust cannot destroy (perhaps He was talking about their reward, perhaps He was talking about Himself- I go for the latter). How different would our lives look if we grasped for but a moment the gravity of the eternal God who calls us to be foreigners? How different would our lives be if all that was unseen was more tangible than that which is seen? How different would we be if we understood that He has kept a place for us with Himself?

Gods desire for His people is that they be overwhelmed by eternity- that their eyes be solely fixed upon Jesus the author and finisher of our faith [2] . We have an incomparably great home that supersedes all of life’s experience. We have a God who gives us glimpses of eternity, revealing His heart and His Being as we sojourn in this “foreign land.” We have a God who promises to keep us hidden in Christ as we journey on this side of eternity. So I finish with the words of Grace Chinga and the words of Paul:

“Mundisungile moyo, mundisungile korona, mundisungile malo, for I know whom I have believed and I am convinced that He is able to guard what I have entrusted to Him until that day.”

Keep our lives.

At His Feet…

References

[1] 2 Timothy 1:12, New American Standard Bible

[2] Hebrews 12:2

 

6 thoughts on ““Mundisungile moyo, Mundisungile korona”

Add yours

  1. Thank you Gareth for the uplifting reflection. This a touching exhortation by all account. Like you, Grace Chinga was never within my music footprint and sadly never knew her very much. Interestingly I had two albums which I never listened to. Posthumously, I have reflected on her music and can confirm that she was most talented and poured her heart on every song on all her albums. Talking about crowns, this should be our prime concern while it is still day. There is a crown of life and a crown of righteousness prepared for faithful servants. Let us ask God to teach us to number our days so that we can live this life wisely and fruitfully. The key is walking in the Spirit and in obedience to the Saviour Jesus Christ. We also need to be clear about our calling and gifting for this confirms God’s purpose for our lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

